Productive Mindset: Final Thoughts Part 1(Abandon a Life of Gluttony)

 

POTD-chipmunk_2663797kSo I’ve been looking forward to writing the final part of the series. I’ve been thinking about it since I finished writing the first part. As I’ve gotten older, I find myself doing less not because I have less energy, but because I overanalyze everything. My mind is racing with thoughts and ideas and sometimes, I’m so consumed by it that I stop what I’m doing to take a mental break and watch a funny video(which turns into more television watching, but I digress). Remember those good old days when we just did stuff? We didn’t think about the issues in our lives when we were making our beds and cleaning our rooms when we were young. Life involved less thinking back then and more doing.

But since we are thinkers and quasi-philosophers, here is the first thought to live by:

ABANDON A LIFE OF GLUTTONY

During the summer after my sophomore year, I was a camp counselor with one of my classmates. It was during that time that I truly understood how to share and stop being greedy. You see, I grew up as an only child. I didn’t think I was spoiled or anything until I got to college and actually lived with people who had siblings. Most of them felt that I needed to learn how to compromise ,but they hardly ever wanted to share either. They were the ones that had to share so much as children that they wanted to be on the receiving end of the sharing for once. How does the saying go? Rome wasn’t built in a day. An only child won’t learn how to share overnight. One friend in particular kept asking me to share, which just pissed me off. Even my mother didn’t except me to share as much as my friend did.

But then one summer I learned how to be less greedy because someone set the example. They didn’t say tell me what I should be doing, they lived their example. Before we started rooming together I was stressing over which side of the room I should sleep on and getting there before her to claim it. I wanted to get the most out of my summer and staking a bed was the first step. But my roommate didn’t care. It was just a bed to her. A place to sleep when she wasn’t out and about.

A few days later, she comes into the room with her roommate from the school year and invites me over to her house. She and her roommate cook for me. They offer me something to drink and want nothing in return. They were so nice, I didn’t even know what to do with myself. No one has been that nice. Then afterwards, we went and got candy for dessert, and they initiated sharing again. Examples of sharing without expecting something in return was a lesson taught over and over again by my roommate.

And so, I decided to follow her example. I realized how ridiculous I was,living a life of greed. I remember being stingy when it came to buying toilet paper and trying to spend as much time as possible in my dorm because the room cost so much. I limited myself because I did so. I was messed up. I wasn’t out enjoying the college experience because I was holed up in my room, and I was eating so much for every meal because I was paying so much for a meal plan.I was too busy calculating how I could come out top in trivial things that I sometimes couldn’t enjoy being with my roommate. I always thought she was getting a better end of a deal sometimes,and it made me moody at times. I felt the need to guard my stuff as well and had an irrational fear of getting my stuff stolen by my roommate. What was wrong with freshman year me?  That was not the way to live. I limited myself so much because I was so worried about getting the most out of my money.

 

IMPACT OF ABANDONING GREED

So junior year of school, I decided to stop being greedy and not think about how much I was putting in. Money and materials will always be around, but experiences won’t. When I decided to stop worrying about what I was getting out of a relationship. I had better relationships with my roommates and I was getting to experience college more. As a result,I had more things to talk about with people. And, I wasn’t conniving like before. I had an overall better experience my junior year of college. I had more time to do things because I was no longer worried about small things like “shouldn’t it be my roommate’s turn to buy toilet paper?”

The new lifestyle also impacted my diet. Before, whenever the cafeteria had my favorite dishes, I would eat plates and plates of it. I was also consumed by getting free food from places. It didn’t help my health at all. I ate like there was no tomorrow. Wasn’t I aware that there were still be the same food around another time?  That’s precisely what I started telling myself. Food isn’t a one time deal. Just because you don’t take it doesn’t mean it won’t come back again. Apart from weight,I wasn’t gaining anything from eating so much food.  With that, I started to eat smaller portions and refrained from grabbing free donuts waved in front of my face. I gotta say, the food sure was tastier that year.

oybgv

Refraining from gluttony is a hard thing to do, especially when you are taken advantage of by friends with gluttonous habits. Sometimes it comes to you naturally(I’m looking at you, June me, trying to binge watch all the shows on my Netflix free trial). Gluttony will always be close by so we have to be strong willed and not stoop to that level.

You know how you save your stomach when you know you’re going to eat out? In life you shouldn’t fill your figurative and literal stomach with a crapload of meaningless things. Leave a bit of space to actually enjoy the more important things in life, whatever they may be.

 

 

Leave a Reply

