Outlook on the Future

outlook-life1

So this morning I woke up to a very annoying call from the financial aid office at my school. It seems that I won’t be receiving a scholarship that I thought I was getting. The whole call was very annoying. The lady on the other end of the phone talked to me like a foreigner, loud and slow. I already didn’t like her because she was delivering bad new. She didn’t understand anything that I was saying. By the end, I was screaming into the phone.

As someone who’s very focused and aware of my finances, this call was a blow to my wellbeing. I wanted to curl up in my bed and pretend it never happened. I cried about it. Once again, I’m reminded of the bad decisions that I made that led me to this point. So many times this summer, I can’t help but think of how my life could’ve been so much better if I did things differently.

I wanted to share the anger that I feel with myself. At the same time, I want to be reminded that once again, life goes on. Wallowing in bed for a day is not going to make the problem go away. It will not put me in a better state of mind. Everyday, we’re tested in one way or another. The call I received was a test. How should I react to it? Simple. Look to the future.

Do not cast a dark shadow on the future. Know that at this very moment, the events of the future are to be determined by the events of the present. Right now it’s very hard for me to be positive given the events of the day. But it’s important that I look to the future and have a positive attitude. I should remind myself of the ultimate goal. Sometimes sacrifices have to be made. My bank account will be crying by the end of this journey, but if I do this right, if I see my goal through, I could be looking at a six figure salary and job stability. Of course, the future may not have that in store, but the pessimistic route should not be taken.

My point is that sometimes, we’re so absorbed in the current that we confine ourselves to the gloom of the day.  It’s normal not to find happiness in every day but we should tell ourselves that it gets better at some point. Whether or not it really does depends on our outlook on life.

Leave a Reply

